Your chance to share a Greater IBM story

The Greater IBM Connection wants to hear about your IBM experiences! If you work or have worked at IBM, please take the time to comment on your IBM experience. The most interesting and informative responses will be shared with our community.  Please share your name, role and company for context if you can. Thanks!

1. Why did you want to work for IBM. If you were acquired by the company, how did it feel when you first heard you were going to be an IBMer? What did it mean to you?

2. Tell a story about a special moment or story – one that made you feel proud to be an IBMer.

3. What would you like people to immediately think when they hear “IBM”?

If you don’t currently work for IBM but would like to give some feedback, just provide your responses based on your past IBM experience.  We look forward to hearing from you!

5 thoughts on “Your chance to share a Greater IBM story

  1. Jasmine, it’s a great topic. After 20+ years wearing the IBM badge, I have some definite opinions about what makes IBM stand out from the crowd. I don’t wear the badge today, but I’m no less proud of the company and its people than when I “badged in”.
    1. People: the best advice I received when I became an IBM manager was “don’t hire anyone you wouldn’t want to work for” – and that kind of thinking has filled IBM’s ranks with the kind of energetic, creative and positive people who have risen to every challenge as the company transformed itself (again and again).
    2. See #1
    3. Commitment to excellence: It almost sounds corny to say that in this era of shortcuts and devil-take-the-hindmost competition, but that’s something that I think the IBM brand has always represented in the public (and employee) mind. The company hasn’t always been first or even at times successful, but when push comes to shove, time and again the company has risen to the challenges and broken through to the upper echelons of achievement. Always, I think, we’ve believed that the company has been and will be a symbol of excellence.
    4. See #1
    5. The company knows it has to deliver for the stocholders – but it’s never lost “heart”. We saw it in action when earthquakes struck China, when floods inundated the midwest, after Katrina. And not just the company, the people of IBM who threw themselves into relief efforts.
    There’s a lot to be proud of; a lot to live up to.

  2. Hey, I am a new IBMer and I love the Tee-shirt slogon ;) What a way to support IBM. And looking forward to meeting more great IBMer =)

  3. Jasmin…Not sure how I missed this post and I am sure I am way to late, but in the name of sharing, I am taking a stab:
    1. I wanted to work for IBM because it was #1 in my book. I was inspired to go for it by a 74 year old business woman, who called me weekly to say, “Did you call IBM?” I remember the day I rec’d IBM’s call at my other job.
    WooHoo!!!!
    2. I had only been with IBM about 1 year when this happened. My mother had a heart attack; my father died. My brother traveling in Turkey; I hadn’t a clue how to reach him to get money to him to come home. I went to a senior leader I had met, putting what I learned in “New Employee Orientation” to the test. Within 6 hours from Los Angeles through IBM Paris, my brother was found and money was delivered to him. IBM continued to have my back for 21 years.
    3. Excellence and execution second-to-none — whether it is a business problem or a people problem, IBM (and IBMers) are the best!

  4. Jasmin…Not sure how I missed this post and I am sure I am way to late, but in the name of sharing, I am taking a stab:
    1. I wanted to work for IBM because it was #1 in my book. I was inspired to go for it by a 74 year old business woman, who called me weekly to say, “Did you call IBM?” I remember the day I rec’d IBM’s call at my other job.
    WooHoo!!!!
    2. I had only been with IBM about 1 year when this happened. My mother had a heart attack; my father died. My brother traveling in Turkey; I hadn’t a clue how to reach him to get money to him to come home. I went to a senior leader I had met, putting what I learned in “New Employee Orientation” to the test. Within 6 hours from Los Angeles through IBM Paris, my brother was found and money was delivered to him. IBM continued to have my back for 21 years.
    3. Excellence and execution second-to-none — whether it is a business problem or a people problem, IBM (and IBMers) are the best!

  5. Hey,
    I will be attending the IBM selection day shortly and I was wondering what classifies as “Business wear” there… Can anyone please advise me? Should I wear a suit or just a shirt and trousers?

Leave a Reply

